MATTERLY BASIN (Great Britain), 29 September 2017 – Today the best motocross riders in the world joined by some of the biggest names, brands, and organizers of the 2017 season at the Matterley Basin circuit, venue of the 2017 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations presented by Fiat Professional, for the 2017 MXGP Awards.

This year’s awards ceremony was held behind the circuit’s new start on the Podium and Skybox structure, hosted by MXGP Presenters Paul Malin and Lisa Leyland then broadcasted live to everyone worldwide via Facebook and MXGP-TV. Youthstream President Mr. Giuseppe Luongo and FIM President Mr. Vito Ippolito were on hand to present the awards to the 2017 FIM Motocross World Champions Antonio Cairoli and Pauls Jonass, in addition to the industry award winners.
FIM Europe President Dr. Wolfgang Srb joined Mr. Giuseppe Luongo to present the 2017 European Champions EMX65 Mads Fredsoe Sorensen, EMX125 Presented by FMF Racing Brian Strubhart Moreau, Honda 150 Andrea Adamo, EMX250 Morgan Lesiardo, and EMX300 Brad Anderson. Returning to the stage Mr. Vito Ippolito rejoined Mr. Luongo to present the awards to the FIM Junior, WMX and VMX World Champions, Ivano van Erp, Eddie Wade, Gianluca Facchetti, Kiara Fontanesi and Martin Zarava.
On the podium came SEL CEO Pier Carlo Bottero as he awarded the Journalist of the year, Frank Van Hoydonck, Photographer of the year, Takuro Nagami, and the best digital platform, OTOR (On Track Off Road) accepted by Adam Wheeler. Then Mr. Luongo awarded the MX2 Rookie, Jorge Prado Garcia, the Jan de Groot award, an award that honors the most promising young talent.
Youthstream also donated €10,000 to the Wings for Life charity every year and this year the cheque was collected on behalf of the foundation by Valentina Ragni.
Tag Heuer awarded Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings and Team Suzuki World MX2’s Jeremy Seewer each a new Tag Heuer watch as the winners of the season’s Tag Heuer Fastest Lap Competition, 9 times for Herlings and 6 times for Seewer.
Fox Head Global Regions Executive Vice President Matthieu Bazil also joined Mr. Luongo on stage to award Antonio Cairoli and Jorge Prado Garcia with checks as the winners of the Fox Holeshot competition as Cairoli took 15 and Prado 14.

To wrap up the awards Antonio Cairoli and Pauls Jonass rode through the crowd and up to the start straight to the podium on the Fiat Professional FULLBACK. Both were brought on stage and each collected their World Champion Awards including championship rings and Tag Heuer watches.
The final award of the day, the lifetime career award, came later at the MXGP Awards Gala dinner in the VIP Hospitality of Matterley Basin and it was awarded to Broc Glover.

Here below the complete list of winners:
MXGP Manufacturer World Champion: KTM
MX2 Manufacturer World Champion: KTM
WMX Manufacturer World Champion: Yamaha

MXGP Winning Team: Red Bull KTM Factory Racing
MX2 Winning Team: Red Bull KTM Factory Racing
WMX Winning Team: MXFONTARACING Syneco

Mechanic of the Year: Ryan Deckert
Lifetime Career Award: Broc Glover

Steve Bruhn Award Journalist of the year: Frank Van Hoydonck
Photographer of the year: Takuro Nagami
Best Digital Platform: OTOR, Adam Wheeler

“Jan De Groot” Award (cheque €5.000): Jorge Prado

Motocross MXGP Best Cooperation: Russia
Motocross MXGP Best Race Track: Argentina
Motocross MXGP Best Media Centre: Russia
Motocross MXGP Best Paddock: Ottobiano
Motocross MXGP Best Promotion: Switzerland
Motocross MXGP Best Infrastructure: Switzerland

Wings For Life: Heinz Kinigardner & Pit Beirer
EMX 65 European Champion: Mads Fredsoe Sorensen
EMX 125 European Champion: Brian Moreau
EMX 150 Honda European Champion: Andrea Adamo
EMX 250 European Champion: Morgan Lesiardo
EMX 300 European Champion: Brad Anderson

65cc Junior World Cup Winner: Ivano Van Erp
85 Junior World Champion: Eddie Wade
125 Junior World Champion: Gianluca Facchetti
Veterans’ World Cup Winner: Martin Zerava
Women’s World Champion: Kiara Fontanesi

TAG HEUER Best Lap Challenge - MXGP & MX2: Jeffrey Herlings & Jeremy Seewer
FOX HOLESHOT Award MXGP and MX2: Antonio Cairoli and Jorge Prado

Motocross MXGP Best Organizer: Assen

MX2 World Champion: Pauls Jonass
MXGP World Champion: Antonio Cairoli

Watch the FULL Video from the 2017 Awards ceremony HERE

FIM Europe
Monster Energy FIM MXoN Presented by FIAT Professional

Stay connected with MXGP

Product Categories
Follow Us